Welcome to WISE Dolls

WISE (Working In STEAM Enterprises) dolls are special dolls you can make your self.

STEAM Enterprises include any interests, jobs or careers that use Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts and/or Math.

You might want to follow the blog and see what dolls other people make. You might make a doll yourself- perhaps ask your Adult to help you (it could be a great weekend or holiday project). If you do, it would be great to see what you create, you might like to send a picture for me to add to the blog- the email is: mywisedoll@gmail.com {make sure you have permission of your Adult to send this, and you can ask me to publish your work with a made up name (pseudonym) to protect your privacy}.

Over the next few months I will be building this site, and sharing the dolls I make using the resources, sites and information I will share here.

I look forward to showing you my adventures, and sharing in yours too.

SO, WHO AM I AND WHERE DID THE IDEA COME FROM?

My name is Fiona T and I am a Mum, crafter and Science teacher. I have been interested in science since I was quite little, and followed this passion to a career I love. The idea for this type of doll has been growing in my mind for a long time now. Nearly 15 years ago my sister and I ‘made’ a Chemical Engineering Barbie for our youngest sister, who was completing a PhD in Chemical Engineering at the time. We were excited to hunt down the outfits that were appropriate for the workplace (a smelter- so covered shoes and overalls were a must) and the accessories that my sister would appreciate too (mobile phone, laptop and zebra print jacket 🙂 ) Of course the real fun was writing the blurb for the box! The photos below show what we came up with.

2015-07-05 18.12.01_resized 2015-07-05 18.12.49_resized 2015-07-05 18.17.36_resized  2015-07-05 18.17.40_resized2015-07-05 18.15.40_resized

More recently I have noticed that there are not many dolls available, for girls or boys, that promote a STEAM kind of role model for young people. There are a few ‘vet’ and ‘doctor’ type dolls, but these represent a very small area of the STEAM Enterprises that are available today. I have recently seen plans for some dolls: http://blogs.scientificamerican.com/voices/holiday-gift-guide-women-in-stem-fields-dolls-and-action-figures/, but some of these  are not being made yet- and they are aimed mostly at girls.

In January 2015 I saw this amazing work from artist Sonia Singh (Tree Change Dolls), and I was enthralled by her ‘up-cycling’ of pre-loved dolls and the ‘make under’ she gave them. Sonia is also kind enough to share her processes through you-tube- so I had an idea!

Why wait for companies to decide to make these dolls for us? We could be more sustainable and re-make pre-loved dolls. We could craft accessories for the dolls. We could invite you to give these dolls a STEAM enterprise to explore. Perhaps you could model your doll on an existing, or historic, person? Perhaps this doll could be a ‘possible future’ you?  This could be fun!

A quick note about how this site is set up.

There is one Home page- where the blog will be added to semi-regularly- and 5 other pages that help structure and support children (and their Adult) to engage with the research, thinking, planning, making, and playing that is possible. The pages are: STEAM jobs and Careers, Think &Design, Make and do, Play, and Share. Each of the pages can be accessed from the tabs at the top of the page. The page is arranged with information and links for Children/Students to access, with more information/links or hints for Adults underneath. My original idea was that this site would be aimed at age 7-15- but that is just a guide, and anyone who is interested should be encouraged to participate.

Until next time- Happy creating 🙂

Fiona T


*All opinions and ideas expressed are my own, and are unsolicited. I have personally researched and checked the sites linked on this blog. WISE Dolls are my own idea, and build on the ideas of others as referenced in this blog. Thanks to my friends and family who have given feedback to help shape the direction of this blog to be most helpful to support Children and students to explore possibilities within STEAM Enterprises. I have developed this blog as an educational forum for Teachers, Parents, Caregivers (aka Adults) and Children- it is a work in progress and will be updated semi regularly. I have received no payment from any supplier for promoting their goods. I am a student, teacher & academic and have no personal business affiliation or business motive on this blog. Opinions expressed are my own, and are not necessarily endorsed by my employer.

2 thoughts on “Welcome to WISE Dolls

Leave a Reply

